Blogging: Am I Too Young?

This post doesn’t really have much to do with fashion, but its kinda been bugging me so I thought I’d go ahead and write about it. I know this is somewhat of a controversial issue, and many people have many different opinions. But this is just my own personal opinion (I kinda have a feeling I may get some negative comments at some point, but I warned myself before hand that this may happen..)

Honestly, I don’t really think their should be an age limit on blogging. Of course, I wouldn’t recommend having a 5 year old blog because they most likely don’t even know what a blog is! But if you really love something whether it be fashion, food, books, etc., you should be able to write about it if you want. I know a lot of people have this idea that if your a young teenager, you can’t handle the pressures of being a blogger or having YouTube channels and whatnot. And most young teens don’t realized that blogging is a lot more difficult then they think. But its not that they aren’t capable of it. Certain kids are at different maturity levels. They  get one negative comment and then feel that life won’t go on. I told myself before I started this blog and my YouTube channel, that one day, whether it was now or later, someone was gonna find a reason not to like me. I knew something was bound to happen along the road, but I didn’t let that stop me. If you love it enough, you won’t listen to what people say. Of course it will hurt. “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”. Definitely not true. Just because I don’t stop doing something, doesn’t mean that it didn’t effect me. Reading a rude comment always hurts, but you have to learn that their approval should not be on your list of priorities.

While blogging does come with its downsides, it also comes with benefits. Whether your young or old, having a blog will help you to discover new things. I know I certainly have learned a lot more, and I haven’t been blogging for very long at all. Blogging for me is almost like an escape from whatever is bothering me. Because I love fashion and makeup, being able to write about it is pure joy. When I’m stressed with school, or a person, whatever the problem is, I can blog about that one thing that makes me happy and gives me something good to think about it. Suddenly I forget about my worries and issues because I can express my love for something through writing and share it with the world. So although it may get difficult at times, if you really work hard and truly love what you write about, it’ll be worth it.

I think sometimes people forget how much their capable of, especially teens. Their at a place in their life where their trying to find out who they are, where they fit in. They don’t realize how much of a difference they can make. Even though there are some young bloggers who quit just because of that one mean comment, there are also the ones who stick with it no matter what and become a huge success.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that you can do it if you really want it. Regardless of what the world says, there shouldn’t be a limit on doing what you love. 

Leave a Reply

